Pinterest, Cooking, and the Superbowl

Thrice I have tried to make this post, and thrice wordpress has somehow deleted it. So here is attempt #4.

Over Christmas, my sister Allie invited me to join Pinterest.

“No thanks, it’s just ONE MORE thing to manage”, I replied. I have a growing resentment towards social-network-that-shall-not-be-named for (a) being so addictive and (b) constantly changing, so that I never know quite who I am sharing things with. At least here on my blog I know it’s public and will be read by strangers (hello strangers!).

I eventually succumbed and created an account, to help Allie accrue ideas for her wedding in July. I started pinning all sorts of cute pictures… like these!


And then that afternoon I got a call from my aunt. “Are you ENGAGED!?!? And you didn’t CALL ME!??”

“No, no I’m not engaged,” I assured her.

“Well, I just got a text from my niece on the other side of the family asking me if you were engaged, because she saw wedding Pinterest pins on Facebook.” Oh dear… I assured her that no, I was not engaged, and promised to call if I ever am. And then proceeded to plaster all over Pinterest “ALLIE’S WEDDING….” hoping to thwart future misunderstandings… yet another reason to resent social-network-that-shall-not-be-named.

All this is a digression, however.

The purpose of this post is to share how Pinterest has inspired an entirely new desire to cook amazing things. Many of them are thoroughly guilty, like these….

Peanut Butter Truffles

Browned Butter Chocolate Chunk Pecan Pizzookies

Blueberry Dump Cake

And this leads me to the point of this post, which is the Superbowl. I would say one outcome of my relationship with Kyle is that he has (started to) convince me of the worthiness of American sports. We started dating during the NBA finals last year, which his Miami Heat eventually went on to lose… and he’s also convinced me that the sheer athleticism of the NFL is worthy of admiration. I did pay more attention to this year’s season than ever before in my memory… due to (at least) two things that piqued my curiosity: 1– Andy Studebaker, who was a contemporary of mine at Wheaton and now plays for the Chiefs. And 2 — Tim Tebow. Anyway, all this has served to make this year’s superbowl somewhat more exciting (and I might actually watch the game instead of just eating a ton!), and the fact that the NY Giants are going to WIN IT is an added bonus. šŸ™‚

Kyle is hosting a party for Fellowship Group, and my newfound food-inspiring obsession with Pinterest has resulted in a variety of recipes I am contemplating trying out on our unsuspecting guests…
Taco Cupcakes


Mini chicken pot pies

Savory Spinach Bites

And last, but not least, the family-staple glazed ham & swiss mini sliders….

And thats probably enough food posts to inspire several months of half-marathon training, so I’ll stop before I get worse. šŸ™‚
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pinterest, Cooking, and the Superbowl

  1. You just made me so hungry! Now I’m trying to figure out which of those recipes I can make out here. Yum.

  2. Marilyn says:

    I love this post for so many reasons! First – I just discovered Pinterest #ohno. Second – Don’t let him convince you American sports are valuable…!! It’s all down hill from there. Just kidding on that one – a sure sign that I am healing in my hurt from America is that I now love the Superbowl, love Fenway park and don’t hate people who love American sports. Third – Love what you posted for your sisters wedding. Thank you so much for coming by my blog – would not have discovered yours and delighted to do so. My daughter is in NYC at college so there too is a connection.

Leave a Reply

