Gilead

I am in the middle of reading a book called “Gilead”, by Marilynne Robinson, and it is SO good! Beautiful beautiful prose… it is a farewell letter from an aging father to his younger-than-usual son, full of memories and lessons he wants to share with his son before he dies, but will be unable to since the boy is too young to understand much of what the father wants to convey.

Anyway, I am not finished yet, but I find that every time I pick this book up I become engrossed and inevitably end up spending more time reading than I plan to. Mostly this happens at night, eating away at the precious hours of sleep I already forfeit to lab work. Hehe. 🙂

Anyway, I recommend it so far. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gilead

  1. Pingback: 7×7 link awards | Life in Newwww Yawwwwk

  2. Joanna says:

    So I followed the 7×7 to this post and I have to tell you Gilead became my favorite book after I drowned in it last year. I could not get over the beauty of that book and it cements our connection as blogging friends with an RVA history, don’t you think?
    You must love East of Eden as well, right?

    • Ashley P says:

      East of Eden is definitely one of my favorite books. I don’t read much, so am glad these two gems have found their way into my library. And yes, bosom blog friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

