>Matthew

>I’ve been reading Matthew recently, and last night a passage struck me, when Jesus went home to Nazareth… the usual line associated with this is “a prophet is not without honor except in his hometown”, but its what comes next that struck me….. “And he did not do many mighty works there, because of their unbelief.” He would have had them have faith first, and then do His mighty works. Seems counter-intuitive perhaps…. because there is that other time where Jesus asked which was easier, to heal the paralytic or say ‘your sins are forgiven’? but then heals him to show He can do both, so that people might believe in Him. And then there’s Doubting Thomas…. Thomas said to the other disciples, “Unless I see the nail marks in his hands and put my finger where the nails were, and put my hand into his side, I will not believe it.” Later, after Jesus shows Himself, He says to Thomas, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” Maybe this illustrates that faith isn’t based on mighty works? Or that mighty works are a response to our faith….?

Anyway, I wonder what kinds of mighty things Jesus would do in my life if I believed more… perhaps this sounds like rambling.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

